Hearing: Who Told Thee Adam?

March 30, 2016

http://www.christianscienceneworleans.org/WedReadings.html

     “Ephphatha” is Aramaic for “Be opened,” and it was Jesus’ cure for someone who had a hearing and speech impediment. There is a lovely poem about being open in The Christian Science Journal — about giving thanks for open thought, open hands, open hearts, open eyes, open doors, open books, and “open meetings, where with lips unsealed, we tell our friends how Truth has made us free.” (Edith Harris Siegfried, January 1960)

I had a wonderful example of the protection of “open ears” last weekend. After dinner Friday night, it occurred to me that I should go to the grocery store to pick up a few items; however, it was already getting dark, so I thought I would just go on Saturday. The thought kept recurring that I should go to the store that night; so I went, and on the way back, I got a flat tire. I was only a few blocks from home, so I slowly drove back on the flat tire, fussing at myself the whole way since we needed to use this minivan the next morning to pick up some furniture in Mississippi. Had I run over some nails or hit a ubiquitous Lakeview pothole in the dark? The next morning when Dan examined the tire, he saw that it was totally split.  We were both so grateful that it had blown out a few blocks from home while I was driving slowly instead of on the interstate at 75 miles an hour. And, there was a tire shop open at 8 am on Saturday morning, so we got a new tire and made it to the Gulf Coast only a few minutes later than expected.  Yes, we don’t always recognize the still small voice when it gives practical directions like “Go to the store!”

